first place cup

Saturday and Sunday were anything but perfect days for golf but 38 contestants turned out for the annual Henryetta Cup.
The annual event is a fundraiser and commemoration in honor of Jeff Lawrence, a two-time state golf champion in 1993 and 1994. He was still on the upward swing of his career when he died tragically in a car wreck along with golfing partner Johnny Moore.
The two-day tournament pays homage to Lawrence through the annual Jeff Lawrence scholarship funded by entry fees.
It is a ten-person team with each named Henryetta, Trosper, Seminole and Cushing. They are in recognition of the golf courses Lawrence won his state championships and runner-up titles and his home course.
This year the winning team was Billy Torrix, Wayne Robertson, Shane Stogner, Bruiser Torrix, Larry Burney, Murray Key, Billy Brown, Billy McDonald and Morgan Brown.
The golfers played 27 holes on each of the two days with the format ranging from best ball to alternate shot or a scramble. On both days, golfers had to contend with rain, periods of cold drizzle and gusty winds.