Okmulgee County residents who were impacted by tornadoes and flooding can now apply for disaster aid after the White House approved a request for federal disaster assistance.
The assistance may include help with housing repairs or temporary housing, U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property, and grants for serious needs and necessary disaster expenses not met by other programs.
Okmulgee County is one of seven in the state included in that disaster approval. The others are Adair, Cherokee, Muskogee, Pottawatomie, Seminole, and Tulsa counties.
Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management and Homeland Security (ODEMHS) reports damage assessments in the seven counties found 594 homes damaged, including 259 with major damage and 20 destroyed. At least 26 people were injured as a result of the storms and flooding.
To apply for disaster assistance, individuals and business owners may call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or go online at www.disasterassistance.gov.